Family medical leave bill moves forward

Feb 12, 2018
family leave

The New Hampshire House voted in favor of a state-run family and medical leave program last week.

The bill, HB 628, creates a program that covers roughly two-thirds of an employee’s wages after childbirth, adoption, or a serious illness in the family.

The money in HB 628

The family and medical leave insurance in HB 628 is funded by a 0.67% tax on each employee’s wages. However, employees could choose to opt out of the program.

Should employers be required to give hourly employees 14 days’ advance notice of their work schedules?

Feb 03, 2018

In 2018, lawmakers will consider SB 422, a bill that would require employers to provide hourly employees with their work schedules at least 14 days in advance of any pay period.

The bill makes an exception for “unforeseen circumstances” beyond an employer’s control, but adds that employers should notify employees of unexpected schedule changes as soon as possible.

The bill also protects employees from retaliation as a result of exercising their right to know their work schedules 14 days in advance.

Is sexual harassment a major issue in NH?

Dec 08, 2017
sexual harassment

In October the New York Times broke a story about Harvey Weinstein's history of sexual assault accusations. The story sparked a national conversation about sexual harassment. How much of an issue is sexual harassment in New Hampshire?

Should NH prohibit firing an employee because of his or her political views?

Oct 19, 2017

The First Amendment protects free speech in public places, but private employers have a lot of power to limit what their employees can or cannot say at work.

Political affiliation - such as Democrat or Republican - is also not a protected class in anti-discrimination laws at the state or federal level.

To learn more about employment discrimination laws in New Hampshire, visit our issue page.

Stronger protections against reverse age discrimination?

Sep 12, 2017
age discrimination

With fewer babies being born since the 1980s and people living longer, the older generation represents a large pool of potential employees in the United States. In fact, New Hampshire, Maine and Vermont have the top three oldest populations in the country.

While lawmakers are considering many policies to meet the needs of the aging population, some question whether young employees need more protection.

Smoker Hiring Bans

May 31, 2017
smoking and smokers

Late last year, two hospitals in Pennsylvania announced they would no longer hire employees who used tobacco. The move was seen as a way to promote healthier lifestyles, reduce sick days, and lower health insurance costs.

Refusing to hire smokers is perfectly legal in the Keystone State, as Pennsylvania doesn’t consider smokers to be a protected class when it comes to hiring practices.

The landscape is different in New Hampshire, where a 1992 law forbids any employer from making not smoking a condition of getting or keeping a job.

Biweekly pay option in New Hampshire?

Mar 12, 2017

Under current New Hampshire state law, employers in the state are required to pay hourly employees each week, with payment issued no later than 8 days after the close of the work week. That could change if HB 194, which recently passed the House, is approved by the Senate. The bill would give employers the option of paying employees every two weeks instead of weekly.

Pages

Subscribe to employees

©2018 Live Free or Die Alliance | The Live Free or Die Alliance is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.