NH labor laws: Big debates for 2019

Dec 24, 2018
NH labor law

New Hampshire state laws regulate many aspects of the relationship between employers and employees. Those regulations cover everything from discrimination to how employers must accommodate breastfeeding mothers.

Here are some of the most commonly applied labor laws in New Hampshire:

Family medical leave bill moves forward

Feb 12, 2018
family leave

The New Hampshire House voted in favor of a state-run family and medical leave program last week.

The bill, HB 628, creates a program that covers roughly two-thirds of an employee’s wages after childbirth, adoption, or a serious illness in the family.

The money in HB 628

The family and medical leave insurance in HB 628 is funded by a 0.67% tax on each employee’s wages. However, employees could choose to opt out of the program.

Should employers be required to give hourly employees 14 days’ advance notice of their work schedules?

Feb 03, 2018

In 2018, lawmakers will consider SB 422, a bill that would require employers to provide hourly employees with their work schedules at least 14 days in advance of any pay period.

The bill makes an exception for “unforeseen circumstances” beyond an employer’s control, but adds that employers should notify employees of unexpected schedule changes as soon as possible.

The bill also protects employees from retaliation as a result of exercising their right to know their work schedules 14 days in advance.

Is sexual harassment a major issue in NH?

Dec 08, 2017
sexual harassment

In October the New York Times broke a story about Harvey Weinstein's history of sexual assault accusations. The story sparked a national conversation about sexual harassment. How much of an issue is sexual harassment in New Hampshire?

Pages

Subscribe to employers

©2018 Live Free or Die Alliance | The Live Free or Die Alliance is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.