New Hampshire Voter Information
This guide provides basic information about voter eligibility and voter registration in New Hampshire, as well as the state's rules for absentee ballot voting. If you have specific questions about any of these topics, we encourage you to speak to your town clerk or town moderator, who can provide more personalized and detailed information about voting in your city or town.
Registering to vote in NH
Who is eligible to vote in New Hampshire?
You may register to vote in New Hampshire if you are a U.S. citizen, spend the majority of the year living in New Hampshire, and will be at least 18 years old on the date of the next election. There is no minimum period of time you must live in the state in order to be eligible.
Can students vote in New Hampshire?
College students from out-of-state who are studying in New Hampshire can declare the Granite State their place of domicile for voting purposes, but they will need to provide written evidence that New Hampshire is where they live, such as a utility bill, lease, or letter from a dorm manager.
A college student who registers to vote in New Hampshire cannot then also participate in elections in his or her home state. If you wish to vote in your home state, you should do so by requesting an absentee ballot from your hometown.
If you register to vote in New Hampshire, the state considers that a way of declaring residency – which means you have to follow other residency laws. In particular, if you own or drive a car in New Hampshire you may need to get a New Hampshire’s driver’s license and/or register your vehicle in New Hampshire.
Where do I register to vote?
You may register to vote ahead of election day with the clerk or the supervisor of the checklist in the town or city in which you live. The deadline to register early is between 6-13 days before the election, depending on the town. You may find the name and contact information of your town or city clerk here. You can also register to vote at your polling place on election day.
How do I register to vote?
You can register to vote at your town or city clerk’s office or with the local supervisor of the checklist anytime up to 6-13 days ahead of an election day, or you can register at your polling place on election day. You will need documentation proving your identity, your place of domicile in New Hampshire, your age, and your U.S. citizenship status.
If you show up at the polls on election day and want to register, but don’t have the right documents, you are still allowed to register and to vote. However, you will need to sign an affidavit testifying to your right to vote in New Hampshire.
In 2017 the legislature passed a law (SB 3) that requires additional proof of intent to stay in New Hampshire after an election. A superior court judge recently struck down that law, but the state is appealing the decision.
Note that if you have moved to a new town from another location within New Hampshire, you will need to register to vote again.
Can I register to vote by mail?
It is possible to register to vote by mail if you cannot do so in person due to a physical disability, religious beliefs, military service, or a temporary absence from New Hampshire. You can request an absentee voter registration form from your town clerk.
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, New Hampshire is allowing anyone concerned about potentially contracting the virus to register and to vote by mail. You can request both mail-in registration forms as well as your mail-in ballot from your clerk. Learn more about voting in New Hampshire during the COVID-19 emergency here.
Can I register to vote online?
No. New Hampshire does not allow online voter registration.
How early do I need to register to vote?
You can register to vote anytime, up to 6-13 days ahead of an election, with your town officials. It is also possible to register to vote at the polls on election day. You will need to provide proof of your identity, your place of domicile in New Hampshire, your age, your U.S. citizenship status and evidence that you are not in the state for temporary reasons only. Note that even if you lack that proof, you can still register and vote by signing an affidavit.
There are, however, cutoff dates for changing your party affiliation in order to participate in a primary vote. For instance, if you were registered Republican, but wanted to vote in the Democratic primary in September 2018, you would have to have declared your party affiliation on or before June 5, 2018. Voters who have not declared a political party affiliation can do so on the day of the primary.
How do I know if I am already registered to vote?
You can check your New Hampshire voter registration status here.
Do I need to choose a party affiliation when I register to vote?
Voters in New Hampshire are not required to choose a party affiliation and can instead opt to register as ‘undeclared’. You may change this at any time. However, if you are registered with a political party there are cutoff dates for changing your party affiliation in the run-up to a primary election. Undeclared voters may declare for a party on the day of the primary.
Voting in NH
Do I need an ID to vote?
Voters in New Hampshire are required to show an approved form of ID, such as a driver’s license or passport. Many New Hampshire student IDs are also acceptable. A full list can be seen here. Those without ID may still participate after filling out an affidavit swearing to their identity and having their photo taken. If your ID is not accepted at the polls, request an affidavit from the election moderator.
If you fill out an affidavit to vote, you will receive a verification letter after the election that you must return within 30 days. If you do not return the letter, the Attorney General will investigate whether you voted fraudulently.
Where is my polling place?
You may find your polling place and its hours of operation by filling out this online form.
Can I vote by mail?
Voters who are unable to participate in an election in person for certain reasons can request an absentee ballot from their town clerk. An absentee ballot can then be mailed in or submitted in person ahead of the election. The allowed reasons for an absentee ballot are as follows: disability, temporary absence from home, military service, religious beliefs, or a work schedule or caregiving duties that tie you up during polling hours.
In light of the COVID-19 emergency, New Hampshire is allowing anyone concerned about getting the virus to vote by mail. You can learn more about voting during the pandemic here.
There is also a provision in the law that allows you to vote absentee the day prior to the election if the National Weather Service issues a severe weather warning for your area for voting day and you feel voting in person during the storm would be dangerous. This also applies if you believe scheduled care for children or infirm adults will be canceled, impeding your ability to vote in person. Read the full text of the law.
A copy of the absentee ballot application can be found here. Absentee ballots are accepted up till 5:00 p.m. on election day. If you wish to check the status of an absentee ballot you have already mailed or submitted, you may do so here.
What do I do if I am told I cannot vote?
The state attorney general has a hotline for reporting problems on election day. Call 1-866-VOTER3 (or 1-866-868-3703). You may also speak to the moderator at your polling place. Remember that even if you do not have ID or your form of ID is being challenged, you have the right to vote after filling out a signed affidavit. You may also call the hotline if you believe you have observed someone else being unfairly denied the right to vote.