Skip to main content

Who We Are



Anna Brown, Executive Director/Director of Research & Analysis 

Anna Brown is Executive Director for Citizens Count and has been with the organization since 2011. She is responsible for tracking, analyzing, and summarizing the roughly 2,000 bills and 1,000 candidates that move through New Hampshire every two years. She gathers legislators’ voting records as well as a wide variety of hard-to-find metrics on each elected official’s work in office, such as partisanship. Anna has her hand on the pulse of the New Hampshire General Court in a way that few others do, which makes her a valuable resource on our team. She is a familiar voice on New Hampshire’s radio waves, serving as a go-to policy expert for NHPR, NH PBS and other media outlets. She received her master’s degree in justice studies from the University of New Hampshire. 

Mike Dunbar, Content Editor 

Mike Dunbar is the Citizens Count Content Editor. He is responsible for proofreading all written material produced by the organization. He also writes many of the original articles on the site and aids the Director of Research & Analysis in long term projects and ongoing initiatives, like the Citizens Count email newsletter and sitewide SEO optimization. He plays an important role in the organization’s marketing efforts by drafting copy and managing our social media presence. A New Hampshire Seacoast native, Mike has his BA with honors in English and Music from the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts.   

Ellen Nunes, Director of Technology 

Ellen Nunes, Director of Technology for Citizens Count, is in charge of building and maintaining our web platform. Prior to joining us, she led a team of software developers and digital content analysts responsible for powering, the consumer-facing website for the third largest property and casualty insurer in the U.S. Ellen’s expertise is an invaluable resource; Ellen harnesses the latest in web technology to give users a seamless and intuitive experience when browsing our tens of thousands of pages of content. 

Citizens Count also welcomes the help of volunteers. 

Board of directors  

Anna Grace Holloway, Chair, Rye  
Paul M. Montrone, Hampton Falls and Wolfeboro  
Mark Thurston, Sanbornton  
Pam LaFlamme, North Country  
Katharine Eneguess, Jaffrey  
Lew Feldstein, Concord  
H. Andrew Crews, Manchester 


Anna Grace Holloway, President 
Paul M. Montrone, Vice President 
John Crowley, Treasurer 
Chelsea Riggs, Secretary 

Our history   

Citizens Count began in 2009 as The Live Free or Die Alliance. It was founded by a group of New Hampshire citizens from every region of the state and every political persuasion. Their goal was to provide an interactive forum for learning and talking about the issues affecting our state, offer ways for citizens to connect with their elected officials, and spark a renewed interest in civic engagement.  Some of our key partners include the New Hampshire Institute of PoliticsGranite State News CollaborativeNH Listens, and Granite State Ambassadors. See a full list of our partners

Our Board of Directors also recognizes key founders Paul and Sandra Montrone, Anna Grace and Paul Holloway, and Fred and Donna Seigel. See a full list of our Founding Members. 

We also recognize Honorary Members, who are those individuals who have reached the pinnacle of citizen engagement through service to their New Hampshire neighbors, communities and fellow citizens both within the state and beyond.  

Stand up for a healthy democracy in New Hampshire by becoming a member of Citizens Count

Thank you to our sponsors and donors