Skip to main content

How does NH compare on the minimum wage?

Image
News Date
Body

Under current state law, New Hampshire’s minimum wage matches the federal minimum wage: $7.25 per hour.

According to the U.S. Department of Labor, here is the minimum wage by state as of January 1, 2022:

State Minimum Wage
Oklahoma $2.00 (small employers)
$7.25 (large employers)
Georgia $7.25 (state law is $5.15, federal minimum applies)
Wyoming $7.25 (state law is $5.15, federal minimum applies)
Alabama $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
Louisiana $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
Mississippi $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
New Hampshire $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
South Carolina $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
Tennessee $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
Texas $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
Utah $7.25 (no state law, federal minimum applies)
Idaho $7.25
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Pennsylvania $7.25
Wisconsin $7.25
Montana $4.00 (small employers)
$9.20 (large employers)
Ohio $7.25 (small employers)
$9.30 (large employers)
Nevada $8.75 (with health benefits)
$9.75 (without health benefits)
Minnesota $8.42 (small employers)
$10.33 (large employers)
West Virginia $8.75
Nebraska $9.00
Michigan $9.87
South Dakota $9.95
Florida $10.00
Hawaii $10.10
Alaska $10.34
Delaware $10.50
Arkansas $11.00
Virginia $11.00
Missouri $11.15
New Mexico $11.50
Illinois $12.00
Rhode Island $12.25
Maryland $12.50
Vermont $12.55
Colorado $12.56
Maine $12.75
Oregon $12.75
Arizona $12.80
New Jersey $11.90 (small employers)
$13.00 (large employers)
Connecticut $13.00
New York $13.20
Massachusetts $14.25
Washington $14.49
California $14.00 (small employers)
$15.00 (large employers)
Washington, D.C. $15.20

 

Employers in states with a minimum wage lower than the federal minimum of $7.25 must still pay at least $7.25 per hour.

Will NH raise the minimum wage?

For several years in a row, New Hampshire legislators have rejected a minimum wage increase.

Click here to learn more about the debate over a minimum wage increase in New Hampshire

Gov. Chris Sununu has said he would be unlikely to sign a bill increasing the minimum wage at the state level. 

Click here to find your elected officials and see where they stand on the minimum wage

Do you support a minimum wage increase in New Hampshire? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Comments

Login or register to post comments

Thank you to our sponsors and donors