Skip to main content

US Senate

New Hampshire's U.S. senators are charged with representing the interests of the state's residents as federal laws are made in Congress.

There are two New Hampshire U.S. senators, the same number as every other state in the nation. They are elected to six-year terms. These elections are staggered, with one-third of U.S. senators up for election every two years. This is why New Hampshire's two U.S. senate seats will never be up for election at the same time.

U.S. senators do not have districts within their states, so both of New Hampshire's senators represent the entirety of the Granite State. They serve in Congress in Washington, D.C. 

There is also a state senate in New Hampshire. Find your state senators.

Number of seats: 2
Who Is Represented

Represents all cities and towns in New Hampshire.

2022 US Senate Primary

Voting Date:

Don Bolduc   

Brigadier General, U.S. Army

Margaret "Maggie" Hassan  (incumbent)

Senator, US Senate (2016 - present); Governor of New Hampshire (2012 - 2016); Senator, NH Senate (2004 - 2010); Majority Leader, NH Senate (2008 - 2010)

Tejasinha Sivalingam
Tejasinha Sivalingam   

Psychology PhD student; property manager; former member, Board of Selectmen, Ashland; former member, Ashland Zoning Board of Adjustment

Thank you to our sponsors and donors