Skip to main content

New Hampshire's Executive Council is responsible for overseeing the majority of state contracts and spending, acting as a check against the power of the state's governor.

Every contract made by any government department over a certain limit ($10,000 or $25,000, depending on the type of contract) has to be approved by the Executive Council. The Executive Council also approves many appointments, such as judges and commissioners, and decides who will sit on public boards, agencies and commissions. They have veto power over major hires, such as government department heads.

There are five Executive Councilors, each elected from their own voting district. They serve a two-year term. There are no term limits. Pay rates and expense reimbursement for councilors are set by the state Legislature. In 2016, councilors were paid $16,096 plus a $6,000 stipend in lieu of expenses. The councilor from District 1 received a $9,000 stipend.

Below are links to each of the 5 NH Executive Council districts, including details on currently elected officials. Winners from the Nov. 8th, 2022 election take office January 4, 2023.

District 1
Albany, Alexandria, Alton, Atk. & Gil. Academy Grant, Bartlett, Bean's Grant, Bean's Purchase, Belmont, Berlin, Bridgewater, Bristol, Brookfield, Cambridge, Center Harbor, Chandler's Pur., Chatham, Clarksville, Colebrook, Columbia, Conway, Crawford's Pur., Cutt's Grant, Dalton, Danbury, Dix's Grant, Dixville, Dover-Ward 1, Dover-Ward 2, Dover-Ward 3, Dover-Ward 4, Dover-Ward 5, Dover-Ward 6, Dummer, Durham, Eaton, Effingham, Errol, Erving's Location, Farmington, Franklin-Ward 1, Franklin-Ward 2, Franklin-Ward 3, Freedom, Gilford, Gilmanton, Gorham, Green's Grant, Hadley's Purchase, Hale's Location, Hart's Location, Hebron, Hill, Jackson, Jefferson, Kilkenny, Laconia-Ward 1, Laconia-Ward 2, Laconia-Ward 3, Laconia-Ward 4, Laconia-Ward 5, Laconia-Ward 6, Lancaster, Livermore, Low & Burbank's Grant, Madbury, Madison, Martin's Location, Meredith, Middleton, Milan, Millsfield, Milton, Moultonborough, New Durham, New Hampton, Northfield, Northumberland, Odell, Ossipee, Pinkham's Grant, Pittsburg, Randolph, Rochester-Ward 1, Rochester-Ward 2, Rochester-Ward 3, Rochester-Ward 4, Rochester-Ward 5, Rochester-Ward 6, Rollinsford, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Sargent's Purchase, Second College Gt, Shelburne, Somersworth-Ward 1, Somersworth-Ward 2, Somersworth-Ward 3, Somersworth-Ward 4, Somersworth-Ward 5, Stark, Stewartstown, Stratford, Success, Tamworth, Thompson & Mes's Purchase, Tilton, Tuftonboro, Wakefield, Waterville Valley, Wentworth's Loc., Whitefield, Wolfeboro
District 2
Acworth, Alstead, Andover, Ashland, Bath, Benton, Bethlehem, Boscawen, Bow, Bradford, Campton, Canaan, Canterbury, Carroll, Charlestown, Chesterfield, Claremont-Ward 1, Claremont-Ward 2, Claremont-Ward 3, Concord-Ward 1, Concord-Ward 2, Concord-Ward 3, Concord-Ward 4, Concord-Ward 5, Concord-Ward 6, Concord-Ward 7, Concord-Ward 8, Concord-Ward 9, Concord-Ward 10, Cornish, Croydon, Dorchester, Dublin, Easton, Ellsworth, Enfield, Franconia, Gilsum, Grafton, Grantham, Groton, Hancock, Hanover, Harrisville, Haverhill, Henniker, Hinsdale, Holderness, Hopkinton, Keene-Ward 1, Keene-Ward 2, Keene-Ward 3, Keene-Ward 4, Keene-Ward 5, Landaff, Langdon, Lebanon-Ward 1, Lebanon-Ward 2, Lebanon-Ward 3, Lincoln, Lisbon, Littleton, Lyman, Lyme, Marlborough, Marlow, Monroe, Nelson, New London, Newbury, Newport, Orange, Orford, Peterborough, Piermont, Plainfield, Plymouth, Roxbury, Rumney, Salisbury, Sharon, Springfield, Sugar Hill, Sullivan, Sunapee, Surry, Sutton, Thornton, Unity, Walpole, Warner, Warren, Webster, Wentworth, Westmoreland, Wilmot, Winchester, Woodstock
District 3
Atkinson, Brentwood, Chester, Danville, Derry, East Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Greenland, Hampstead, Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, Kingston, New Castle, Newfields, Newington, Newmarket, Newton, North Hampton, Pelham, Plaistow, Portsmouth-Ward 1, Portsmouth-Ward 2, Portsmouth-Ward 3, Portsmouth-Ward 4, Portsmouth-Ward 5, Raymond, Rye, Salem, Sandown, Seabrook, South Hampton, Stratham, Windham
District 4
Allenstown, Auburn, Barnstead, Barrington, Bedford, Candia, Chichester, Deerfield, Epsom, Goffstown, Hooksett, Lee, Londonderry, Loudon, Manchester-Ward 1, Manchester-Ward 2, Manchester-Ward 3, Manchester-Ward 4, Manchester-Ward 5, Manchester-Ward 6, Manchester-Ward 7, Manchester-Ward 8, Manchester-Ward 9, Manchester-Ward 10, Manchester-Ward 11, Manchester-Ward 12, Northwood, Nottingham, Pembroke, Pittsfield, Strafford
District 5
Amherst, Antrim, Bennington, Brookline, Deering, Dunbarton, Fitzwilliam, Francestown, Goshen, Greenfield, Greenville, Hillsborough, Hollis, Hudson, Jaffrey, Lempster, Litchfield, Lyndeborough, Mason, Merrimack, Milford, Mont Vernon, Nashua-Ward 1, Nashua-Ward 2, Nashua-Ward 3, Nashua-Ward 4, Nashua-Ward 5, Nashua-Ward 6, Nashua-Ward 7, Nashua-Ward 8, Nashua-Ward 9, New Boston, New Ipswich, Richmond, Rindge, Stoddard, Swanzey, Temple, Troy, Washington, Weare, Wilton, Windsor
Thank you to our sponsors and donors